AH signed photo with silver frame

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

AH signed photo with silver frame

Who is the resident expert in AH signed photos with silver frames?

I have an important lead/tip and need to consult the knowledgeable people.

There are also other silver frames and high ranking personalities of the TR coming out of the woodwork.

I'm not at the liberty of showing photos publicly yet, the owner has not authorized me. But we may get there.

Sal

Opinions on the signature and writing please.
    Attached Files

Comment

No expert

I am no expert but that looks a dodgey one to me !

Comment

I think you will need a better photograph of the signature and writing for a good assessment. Can you get it out of the frame without damaging it ?

Comment

They are even faking the frames now.

Comment

Is 100% correct.

Comment

The frame looks fine to me...but it would be nice to see the Wellner mark on the reverse. The difference between the ink color of the AH signature and the date written below it is a concern. Did Hitler actually present an example of his Hoffmann portrait with a PRINTED signature in his unique silver frame?? I am also not familiar enough with Hitler's handwriting to identify that date line of text as his own, but it may be that he added that line himself and since the ink looked dark enough to match his printed signature on this photo when he wrote it, he let it be presented like this. Then, over the decades, the handwritten ink faded while the printed signature remained sharp, and we wind up with the way this piece looks today.

This is just a thought on my part...I too am anxious to read the comments of others here who are much more familiar with Hitler's handwriting.

Cheers,

Br. James

Comment

The answer to your question is 'no, he didn't'. These frames were personal gifts from Hitler and he wouldn't condone a printed signature.