My TR Portrait Postcard Collection

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My TR Portrait Postcard Collection

I have been collecting portrait postcards for a couple of years now and enjoy this segment of the hobby as much or more than my Iron Crosses. I collect from both wars and concentrate on postcard size private portraits. My collection has single portraits, families, weddings etc. I love these photos as they can give you a glimpse back in time that no other collectable gives. I often wonder what happen to the people in the photos. I am going to start a running thread and add my items a few at a time, as this will take a while. I will attempt to describe the contents as accuratly as possible, but if I make a mistake feel free to correct or expound on my information. As I stated before, these are mostly postcard size. Hopefully someone will enjoy my items.

I'll start with what appears to be a mountain trooper in a winter anorak. Slightly larger than postcard size on Mimosa "Carbon Braun" paper. Not an actual postcard by the looks of the back.
    Attached Files

Here's a nice Heer steel helmet portrait showing a just awarded EK2 and the SA Sports badge. Postcard size, with "Carte Postale" on the reverse. I'm assuming this is a portrait that was done in occupied France. Am I right?
    Attached Files

Comment

Female RAD member. Single female portraits are not that easy to find. This one is on Mimosa paper, postcard format.
      Attached Files

Comment

A nice LW portrait showing some type of flight helmet. Is it a summer flight helmet or glider helmet? Another Carte Postale on Kodak paper.
        Attached Files

Comment

Another nice Heer steel helmet portrait. This one looks great in hand. It has nothing on the back.
          Attached Files

Comment

A great looking SA portrait. There's a party badge and what appears to be some kind of badge or tinnie. Mimosa paper in postcard format.
            Attached Files

Comment