SS Blurred Edge Cover on E-Stand

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

SS Blurred Edge Cover on E-Stand

This helmet cover came from a very respected dealer and I have always believed it to be a one-look original example. Hoever, I am by no means an expert, and I am always learning. If I am wrong on this, it wouldn't be the first time. Emilio has commented that this should be posted for discussion:

http://dev.wehrmacht-awards.com/foru...d.php?t=202232

I believe this can be returned to the dealer if in fact it has issues. I would appreciate any comments or opinions on this cover. Thanks in advance.

rear clip- spring side
    Attached Files

Comment

Rear Clip- fall side
      Attached Files

Comment

Chris,the cover looks original and the clips also but IMO they are ground-dug and put on the cover post-war.The condition of the cover and the clips look different to me.I hope I'm wrong

Best
        Emilio

Comment

Hello Chris,
          I think that Emilio's concerns are regarding some period clips that were recently found by diggers and used for a "cover". Still I think it's hard to tell from those pictures, IMO the cover still holds a chance as anodization (blackening) was rather weak from time to time.

-May I ask you to post pictures of all three clips and from each side?

-Do the rivets match the wear/use/ageing of the clips? (hard to tell from these pictures as well)

Thanks!!

Fritz

Comment

Originally posted by Panzergrenadiere71 View Post
            Chris,the cover looks original and the clips also but IMO they are ground-dug and put on the cover post-war.The condition of the cover and the clips look different to me.I hope I'm wrong

Best
            Emilio

Sorry....you posted while I was typing...

Cheers

Fritz

Comment

Hi Friends!
              The Cover is Original IMO, Only the clips are the BLANK CLIPS, often saw in the War time pictures and in some original exemples.
              Nice piece, few used.
              By lorenz