Newbie requesting help to identify legit SA dagger

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie requesting help to identify legit SA dagger

Greetings, I am new to collecting German military items. I have already started collected allied items but I came across an SA dagger that I can't stop thinking about. Actually I came across several items that I am wondering about. From everything I can tell it looks like a later Marine SA but I am nervous since there does not seem to be much info regarding this knife at least that I have been able to find. The Scabbard is black and so is the knife. To make matters worse the same guy is selling a helmet that appears to be mocked up as a double decal SS helmet. The helmet does not even appear to be German since it does not have any rivets whatsoever. It only has a vent hole. He is also selling a German Army dress dagger but again I am not sure about its authenticity. The 2 Daggers look real but since the Helmet is clearly fake? I am Leery. Opinions would be appreciated.
    <iframe width="480" height="360" src="http://s237.photobucket.com/user/rmurray623/embed/slideshow/WWII%20Collectibles"></iframe>

The Aesculap dagger looks correct & period, it is an earlier vintage example. The black scabbard would typically indicate it is an NSKK dagger, not SA. But the grip looks crudely painted black.

Some collectors believe the SA daggers with painted black scabbards AND painted black grips are early Marine SA daggers. Some others believe that these daggers are really just very early NSKK daggers. Either way, it looks like a decent dagger, assuming the asking price is commensurate with its condition.

Comment

Beware, any seller offering fake militaria should be avoided..Helmet is definately post war West German M1953 helmet, the stamping 4 is not original too. So would you trust to buy the other items?

Comment

Hi 98 Thundercat; welcome among us -- it's good to have you here!

Cheers,

Br. James

Comment

Welcome to WAF.