Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

U-boat by fo Wien sub-types

Hello to all Kriegsmarine collectors.
    I have no Kriegsmarine badges as yet in my collection, so I have no real experience with these. I missed out on a U boat badge some time ago, but have always admired them from afar. That said, I have been offered this badge which is maker marked for Friedrich Orth Wien. I have searched through the archive but to be honest the only ones I saw had a circle on the lower obverse. Is this one original or a well made repro?
    Your opinions are very much appreciated.

kind regards John
    Attached Files

Hi John unless its the pics personally I dont like this one.

Comment

Hi and thanks mrg. Could you ellaborate as to the reasons you dont like this one. I would be grateful for the input.

regards John

Comment

Hi John maybe its the pictures but going off these I do not like the look of the eagle, cut offs look strange as does the colour of the metal, maybe in natural light with better pictures it may look different as the hinge and catch look ok, but the eagle looks wrong and not as crisp as it should be. The F.O are really well faked so the pictures have to be spot on. Regards mrg

Comment

John,

Please take the photo with the flash off, macro function on, natural light.

It will be a much better result for us to look at this badge. I personally do not have a problem with the cutouts but the flash on the badge is distorting the image.

John

Comment

Thanks for the responses. This is the only other picture I have which is not much good. I will ask the seller for some photos in natural light.
            regards John
            Attached Files
            Last edited by John R.; 11-13-2010, 12:10 PM.

Comment

Here's mine for comparison purposes.
              Attached Files
              George

Comment

As ever I could be wrong but I like this badge.

Comment

Question for discussion