Unmarked minesweeper

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Unmarked minesweeper

Hi Guys i would like your thoughts on this unmarked minesweeper any idea of the maker and most important is it original

Thanks Frank
    Attached Files

Hi Frank,

There are a lot of these floating around, but that one has yet another variant setup. It's a zinc S&L like discussed in this thread.

I'd like to see closeup side views of the attachment of the hinge if possible though.

Best regards,
    ---Norm

Comment

Original with some sort of chemical reaction perhaps going on around the hinge and top left of the badge as viewed from the reverse. Overall not in bad condition. John

Comment

A nice original badge in very good condition for a zincer.

Norm, am I right in thinking there was another pin setup from S&L? A straight wide pin? Forgive the question if it's a simple one, I'm just starting out learning these badges.

Comment

Originally posted by Adrian View Post
          A nice original badge in very good condition for a zincer.

Norm, am I right in thinking there was another pin setup from S&L? A straight wide pin? Forgive the question if it's a simple one, I'm just starting out learning these badges.
          Hi Adrian,

For the S&L zinc minesweepers I've seen 3 setups - the one shown by Frank at the top of this thread and the two shown in the other thread (needle-pin/oval hinge and the broad inverse taper pin). These same 3 setups along with some other variations are used in the S&L zinc Hilfskreuzer badges as well (Martin W. has all these variations), and you see similar variations on this theme in the zinc HSF badges and the zinc 1st pattern S-boats. These are all late war zincers, and there's some concern that some may even be post-war assembly in Ludenscheid from leftover parts for the souvenir market but hard to say, and there's no doubt that many are wartime manufacture.