Opinion on Ritterkreuz

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Opinion on Ritterkreuz

For a friend in Germany I would like to post his cross for the judgement of the honest panel. I already gave him my strong opinion about this cross.
    B&D PUBLISHING
    Premium Books from Collectors for Collectors

reverse
    B&D PUBLISHING

Comment

Marking
      Attached Files
      B&D PUBLISHING

Comment

Center detail
        Attached Files
        B&D PUBLISHING

Comment

DM...how come you have so many German friends!! Almost like you can speak the lingo!

I'd say the bit of ribbon is good....

Dave
          Regards,
          Dave

Comment

I hope your friend can get his money back
            When you go home
            Tell them for us and say
            For your tomorrow
            We gave our today

--Inscription in the 5th Marine Division cemetery,
            Iwo Jima 1945

Comment

[QUOTE=Dietrich]Center detail[/QUOT

I am new to this. However, I have a real cross and photos to which to compare. There are subtle differences in the inner corners of the beading, particularly on the reverse. Also, the ring appears larger than it should. The "800" does not appear to be hand stamped and is too perfect. The dates of the "1939" are pretty good. But the "1813" is off in that the base of the "1" is too low and the shapes of the tops of the "1"s is different. Based upon these issues I would say this does not conform to a S&L cross. Also, is it just the photo, or is that swaz pyramidal shaped? What is the weight and dimensions of this cross. Any other specific details beyond the ones I have mentioned that one can find? Thanks

Comment

I'm looking for a piece of ribbon like that if he's parting out the good from the bad. Please...

Comment

Dietrich,

did you used the two halves you posted few time ago to finish this one?

Originally posted by Brian S