Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Schinkel EK1 with screw plate

Hi Gentlemen,
    What do you think of this Schinkel form EK 1 with screw back plate? It appears to be a one piece cross.
    Thank you,
    Curtiss
    Attached Files
    Last edited by nonameno; 12-02-2006, 02:55 PM.

Looks ok to me but I'm not an expert. Perhaps more people will chime in.
    pseudo-expert

Comment

Hello

The cross looks good to me as well. The screw disc and backing plate are the same as some encountered on WW1 EK1s. I'm not 100% on this, but the 'PM' on the screw disc may be for Paul Meybauer of Berlin, who made EKs during both wars, (and before as well).

Either way, I like it.

Regards
      David

Comment

While the components themselves may all be good - and I think probably are - I do not think they started life together.

There is absolutely no wear or patina on the reverse of the cross consistant with this attatchment device having been rotated on and off it over the years - as can be clearly seen on the example below.

Nice bits, not a 'set' though IMO..

Marshall
        Attached Files

Comment

Is it likely that the screwplate would fit the threads of the post if it wasn't an original component of this cross? (Has anyone ever tried different posts vs. plates to see if they were interchangable? The only switch I ever tried didn't fit.)
          George

Comment

Originally posted by George Stimson View Post
            Is it likely that the screwplate would fit the threads of the post if it wasn't an original component of this cross? (Has anyone ever tried different posts vs. plates to see if they were interchangable? The only switch I ever tried didn't fit.)
            I tried it with 2 Schinkel screw-backs of my, but it didn't fit.
            If you look at the disc, it looks manipulated.

The screw on mine 1939 schinkel doesn't have the silvermark and PM mark like the ones I saw until this day on WW1 EK's.