ss skull button question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

ss skull button question

Are the skulls on the early overseas caps always rzm marked?

Hi, the short answer is "no".

Cheers, Ade.

Comment

Yes, the early SS skull cap buttons are "ALWAYS" marked RZM.
      The proper markings found on the originals are: "RZM 57", "RZM 63 SS",
      "RZM M5/69", and "RZM 1194/year SS", (this one is actually mid-period and is made of aluminum, not nickel like the others).
      Most of these are marked either "RZM 1194/40 SS", or "RZM 1194/39 SS"
      The late-war zinc ones are unmarked.

Best, Chris
      Last edited by SScollector; 11-01-2005, 05:45 PM.

Comment

I was curious mine is the green painted one and it has no markings, but looks exactly ike the originals in kit wilson's book

Comment

Hi,
          I am not a insignia expert and I don't know what you mean when you say "green"....But the "gray" SS VT ones were unmarked as far as I know...

Cheers

Fritz

Comment

I mean the skull buttons that are field grey on the field gray caps

Comment

The early nickel skull buttons were often painted silver/gray or green
              if not used by the Allgemeine-SS.
              The late-war, unmarked zinc buttons were factory finished,
              (I don't know what type of finish was used on these,
              but it was more durable), with a different type of finish.
              We often call it green or gray, but this factory finish is really a combination of both colors.

Best, Chris
              Last edited by SScollector; 11-01-2005, 11:28 PM.

Comment

I think we can all agree here, it is just the initial question was a little vague, as to which pattern of cap we were talking about. There was a black version or a grey one