Thinking of buying this - opinions?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Thinking of buying this - opinions?

Luftwaffe 'overseas' sidecap as advertised on a dealers site (hope he doesn't mind my posting the pic from his site here, is that an acceptable thing to do?).

I'm new to caps and will be getting some reference literature on them but right now I don't even know what the common term 'overseas' means in relation to German WWII caps - hence any opinions are welcome.

Cheers,
    Peter
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Peter R.; 05-16-2004, 04:46 AM.

No opinions either way?

Comment

Hi peter

I was thinking of purchasing this some time ago. It is apparently in mint condition. The hat looks good but without having it your hands and seeing it close up you can never be 100%. The eagle looks funny to me. The eagle, most likely origional, is slightly lighter in color than the rest of the hat? The hats wool being darker than the eagle's wool leaves me wondering. Just an observation. Steve

Last edited by airborne_steve; 05-15-2004, 10:41 PM.

Comment

Is the material that the eagle was produced on being lighter than the main cap material a known issue?

I guess that to a novice like myself, it seems understandable that the roll of wool fabric the eagles were sown onto might differ slightly from the rolls used by the cap manufacturer (assuming that no factory made both insignia and cut/assembled complete headwear pieces).

Does that make it a suspect piece?

If not, I'll see if Grenadier have a money-back guarantee - if so, might be worth getting it and posting closeup pics here of the cap, if it turns out to be a repro then at least I'll be out of pocket for shipping only.

But if that colour difference rings alarmbells immediately...

Comment

Peter,