Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Strange KM equipment

Hi Guys,
    A friend of mine found this on the flea market and asked me what is it? If this is really KM equipment and what was used for? I am not experienced in KM equipment but to my eyes it has something to do with maps and navigation?
    All opinions will be much appreciated! The set consists of two boxes, each about one meter long, very heavy.

I enclose contents of first box.

Cheers,
    Hubert
    Attached Files

more
    Attached Files

Comment

more of first box
      Attached Files

Comment

contents of the second box
        Attached Files

Comment

last image of the second box.

Sorry for bad images but I took those pictures with my mobile and the light conditions were very poor.

Cheers,
          Hubert
          Attached Files

Comment

"All instruments for all branches of surveying. Supplier for the army and navy, Empire, State and local government authorities and industry."

Basically for map laying, I would say.

Carles

Comment

Originally posted by me6_130 View Post
              "All instruments for all branches of surveying. Supplier for the army and navy, Empire, State and local government authorities and industry."

Basically for map laying, I would say.

Carles
              Thanks Carles

Do you mean this was used for making new maps? So I understand this is kind of office equipment and not used on board?
              Cheers,
              Hubert

Comment

Station pointer

Hi,

the first instrument is a nice "station-pointer", in German "Doppel-winkelmesser".
                It was used on board of ships for navigation in costal areas.
                How it was used you can read here:
                http://www.dehilster.info/navigation...on_pointer.php

Regards
                Christian

Comment

Hi Christian,
                  Thanks a lot, that's all I need
                  Cheers,
                  Hubert

Comment