Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Artillery Unteroffizier board for review

Hello all,
    I am fairly new to German items and just picked up an artillery unteroffizer strap and I was hoping I could get some opinions on it. Ive been reading a couple of books on the subject but wanted to see what y'all think.
    Thank you
    Attached Files

willkommen

Welcome to the forum, Tulahex. Looks like a nice original strap and unit numbered loop. You will be able to find out more about the unit by doing a little interesting research. And keep in mind officers wear boards, all others wear straps!

Comment

Thank you for the correction I have been using them interchangeably!

Comment

Originally posted by Tulahex View Post
        Thank you for the correction I have been using them interchangeably!
        Many collectors do, but pauke is 100% correct.

I also think it's a nice good later strap.

Comment

Originally posted by pauke View Post
          Welcome to the forum, Tulahex. Looks like a nice original strap and unit numbered loop. You will be able to find out more about the unit by doing a little interesting research. And keep in mind officers wear boards, all others wear straps!
          I hope I can find some unit information. Ive been researching U.S. items in my collection for years and that is honestly the most enjoyable part of collecting in my opinion!

Comment

Definitely a good one as previously stated! Nice early on piece to have too - I wish I had started collecting shoulder straps with überschübe much sooner!

Comment

Schulterklappe

It is a M40 pattern Schulterklappe for the rank of Unteroffizer with subdued NCO tresse. The rayon red color piping along the edge denotes the branch of service via the color (Waffenfarbe), in this case Artillerie. Here is a link to a unit history and you can see the higher unit that the regiment belonged to:

http://www.lexikon-der-wehrmacht.de/...Gliederung.htm