3 Panzer Boards

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

3 Panzer Boards

The third board is for an Oberleutnant (1st Lieutenant) from a panzerjager unit. I would imagine this board, with its subdued color, amount of wear and toning, was worn on a combat tunic. Time and insects have not been kind to the underside. It is also from Chris V.

Please feel free to comment. I am relatively new to collecting shoulder straps/boards and have a lot to learn. I primarily collect panzer and panzer related straps and boards. I am currently looking for a panzer NCO strap, with black top. If anyone has one they would sell please send me a PM.

Thanks,
    Paul
    Attached Files

pz boards

The second board is for a full Colonel (Oberst) from Panzer Regiment #2 of the 16th Panzer Division. It features the older, first style type of number. It is made with the bright Russian braid material and probably intended for use on a dress/parade style uniform. An advanced collector told me that he has a similar board and that the prongs on the pip that would sit closest to the shoulder were also trimmed down on his to prevent it from pressing into that area. It is my understanding that a full colonel could either be the actual commander of Panzer Regiment #2, or on the General Staff of the 16th Panzer Division. The division fought in Russia and was basically destroyed at Stalingrad. It was reformed in March 1943 with new recruits and the few units that had not been trapped in Stalingrad. I wonder if the officer did not use this board on a uniform because he never returned from Stalingrad.
    Attached Files

Comment

pz boards

Hello,
      Over the summer, I acquired three panzer boards that I thought I would post.