Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mint tropical aufkl. boards

Hi to all,

What do you think about this pair, cloth and rayon piping are period ( tongues lining is odd), but I have a doubt about the construction.
    Don't hesitate to share your impressions!
    Attached Files

Attached Files

Comment

Attached Files

Comment

Attached Files

Comment

I am by no means an expert on tropical boards but I do like the look of the sewing around the button holes. I have never seen a pair made with that blue colored thread but that doesn't make them bad on its own. The green/blue wool underlay is a bit different than I have encountered but who knows for sure. I like them more than I don't but NZMARK and Mark G will know for sure. These guys are both really good with tropical boards. I have only handled a small portion compared to those guys. Matt

Comment

Good materials, though the wool underlay appears a bit 'turquois' on my monitor(?)
            The construction also looks good, too. Nice button hole stitching, & I like the 'chocolate' twill on the tongues, while the tongue underlay colour doesn't worry me at all. The pair are just so awfully 'mint'....& Reconaisance? From what I'm aware of Aufklarungs used goldgelb in 1941, then in late 1941 they went to Copper Brown....
            Matt, thanks for the vote of confidence but I can only tell so much from photos! I'd like to know what that wool feels like. I'd prefer a bit of wear and stress on the components to see the threading open out a bit & see what opens out first, another key to originality.
            I'd like to hear from more experienced collector's on this as well.
            Where did this 'mid-war' set appear from, Alex?
            Regards,
            Mark
            Last edited by NZMark; 07-25-2011, 04:01 PM.

Comment

Thx Mark and Matt for your message,