What's the big deal with SS items?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What's the big deal with SS items?

I have been collecting for many years and like just about everyone when they started collecting they want SS items!I got stung badly and collect Wehrmacht (Gebirgsjaeger) uniforms,Headgear and Insignia as well its Awards.
    Just out of interest what do other collectors think?I personally think the Wehrmacht were just as brave as the SS on the field and worthy of equal status.Over 90% of SS items are FAKE.it's the worse thing you can collect because even the most "expert" collector has been caught out with fakes!
    comment
    40.00%
    rating
    60.00%

The poll is expired.

Hello,
    I do not believe there is more fake SS items than fake German Third Reich Militaria in its whole. For one fake SS Belt buckle the same faker's company will produce a fake WH buckle, and a LW, KM,HJ,NPEA,DRK... and so on fake buckle. It is obvious with the latest fakes from "CZ Rep". Even regular German WWI belt buckles are reproduced by now in East European countries.
    For myself, after over 15 years of collecting/dealing I am collecting only SS items, especially SS Belt Buckles, but I am looking with great suspicion ANY 3rd Reich item from another branch of service, not only the SS items. Are you feeling safe when you have to buy a pair of Gebirgsjaeger shoes or any M43 cap with Edelweiss on it's side?? For me, I don't.
    I am convinced than knowledge on the subject you are collecting/dealing with is your only secure room (and still...)
    Handling original items, sharing information with older collectors (yes there is still some persons who build their collection at more easier times) will prevent collector of any 3rd Reich item to be fooled. In the SS Buckle Forum, I will be surprised if any member gets burnt with any of the latest SS buckle fake in aluminum from East Europe. Why ? Because they know by now differences between originals and fakes.