X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Panzer Tunic

I am just starting out collecting and purchased a miscellaneous
    group of WW2 German items. This tunic came from a captured
    soldier in Italy so the story goes. Any comments?
    Thanks Terry

I guess my picture didn't upload.

Comment

Panzer Uniform

I'll try again
      Attached Files

Comment

Panzer Tunic

Here's inside the tunic.
        Attached Files

Comment

collar

It does not look right for WW2. Converted East German? The collar neck closure is weird looking and the seams along the chest area??? Also it appears to be very smooth (rayon blend?) modern material...
          Sorry but it does not get me too excited (except for the pzr waffenfarbe insignia)
          I hope I'm wrong on this one! Liner shots might also help! Does it have a dagger hanger strap?
          Nick

OH never mind you just posted liner shots! It is East German based on the stamp which is a dead give away!!! "VA" means "Volks Armee"... =peoples army (DDR)
          You usually see "NVA" stamped in these which means "Nationale Volks Armee"
          (=Nat'l Peoples army)
          Bad too the bone I believe! I think I even see a '51 date! and another date??? "Richter Berlin 1940" ??? must have been added!! When fakers add stamps the verbeage "Berlin" is a popular one of course!
          The uniform material does look like mottled Polizei material as used during the war by Polizei troops... now that you're showing close ups of the lining...the overall look still points towards post war I'm afraid!
          Last edited by NickG; 12-24-2007, 03:00 AM.

Comment

Thanks for your comments, although I think it may be wool.
            The bottom pockets are not functioning either-- probably
            another problem for authenticity. Its hard to start collecting
            and hit the mark right , although I got a very nice helmet
            lots of badges, a dagger, and some other hardware for a