HG Experts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HG Experts

I am looking at purchasing a HG LW tunic. Is it conventional wisdom that all of these were marked to the HG unit on the inside, or are there many examples that just have the standard LBA markings and no evidence of HG markings inside?
    Does anyone have an example of an original, white-piped HG LW tunic that has no HG markings inside?

Thanks in advance, Doug

I'm not an expert on the subject, but I believe that some HG tunics have only LBA markings. My HG tunic(white-piped service tunic) has only LBA marking, and one of Peter Whamond's HG tunics on his list has also size and LBA markings only(while the other one, which was sold, has unit marking).

Comment

unmarked HG tunics

I've got two unmarked examples.

The first is a privately purchased wrap tunic made by Peek & Cloppenbug KG. It's got the label in it, and all the HG insignia, but no stamps.

The second is a Fliegerblouse that still has the tag on it. Again, all the HG insignia, but is unissued and has no stamps.

In my opinion, if it is in unissued condition, or privately purchased, it doesn't hurt you.

Otherwise, look for and expect stamps.

Good luck.
      Chad

Comment

My HG tunic is an issue one, which shows moderate use. I've just examined it more throughly and found that it has a HG unit marking beside the LBA and size markings. The unit marking had faded that I missed it at first glance . So, I think Chad is right on the stamp issue.
        Last edited by nakta; 07-17-2006, 05:34 AM.

Comment

So I take it you do not like the one on Peter Whammond's site that has just LBA markings but no HG markings???

Comment