All matching 1940 Luger

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

All matching 1940 Luger

I picked this Luger up yesterday from a work colleague. His father in-law owned this Luger and recently passed away. I purchased it from my work colleague. It appears to be all matching down to the firing pin. I took the Luger apart prior to purchasing it. Would like to get some opinions since I am no expert. I mainly collect German WWII helmets. Thank You!
    Attached Files

I think you know the history of the piece and that it's all matching, so I can add very little....Only downside is that it's not an S/42 code instead, but enjoy your find....It's a keeper...Bodes

btw, Did it come with a holster and another matching number magazine?...

Comment

It appears to be very nice and not easy to find with an original matching magazine (as opposed to a bumped renumbered mag!) please keep a light coat of quality oil on it. Of course the s/42 code was changed to 42 in mid 1939, this is a very nice example and would cost a lot of money to replace these days.

Comment

Originally posted by bodes View Post
        I think you know the history of the piece and that it's all matching, so I can add very little....Only downside is that it's not an S/42 code instead, but enjoy your find....It's a keeper...Bodes

btw, Did it come with a holster and another matching number magazine?...
        Thank you for your response. No it did not come with a holster and no it did not come with another matching magazine. You bring up a good point though. I will ask my work colleague to make sure another matching magazine is not lying around some where maybe in the holster.

What is special about the S/42 code vs plain 42 code later model perhaps?

Thank You!

Comment

Originally posted by phild View Post