SA Transitional Dagger Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

SA Transitional Dagger Question

A short time ago I purchased an SA dagger that is described as transitional. I will admit that I am new at collecting and this was my first dagger. This dagger is described as an SA transitional with a combination of the Eickhorn-RZM 7/66 1939 stamp. The dagger came with a brown scabbard and does "NOT" have the word "Original" above the Eickhorn logo which is the squirrel standing and holding a sword. I have read numerous posts on this dagger and the pros and cons of a an Eickhorn dagger that does not have the word "Original". I have come to understand that the dagger of this type is probably indeed period although it may not have actually been assembled at the Eickhorn factory. With that being said one of my main concerns is was this dagger supposed to be accompanied with a black NSKK scabbard or the brown SA scabbard. Most daggers of the type described above that I have seen both on this site and others is that the dagger should have come with the NSKK black scabbard. As of this date I have seen 2 daggers offered for sale with this logo on another web site and one is currently for sale on E stand, all having black scabbards. I purchased this dagger from a reputable dealer whom I will not mention. I have asked him about the scabbard and he stated that the dagger with this logo may have come with a black scabbard but as their may have been an overun of this color they were painted brown to apparently classify them as a true SA dagger. So my question is basically very simple, the dagger which was sold to me as an authentic SA dagger with the logo described above, should it have a brown SA scabbard or a black NSKK. Also has anyone ever heard of black scabbards being painted brown so that they can now be officially labeled as an SA. Thank you for any assistance that you can provide.

Jerry Sitek