Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Waffen-SS General's Schirmmütze?

Hi everyone,

I just wanted to get everyone's opinions on this cap. I am really a novice at identifying items and I can't seem to find all the information I need from googling...

Here's all that I know about it from what I can see and what I've been told:

- it seems to have aluminium type piping around the top of the cap and around the top and bottom of the black band
    - the black band feels something like velvet
    - the insignia looks to be made of something coppery
    - the buttons holding the cap cords are made of the same coppery metal
    - the totenkopf is broken, the bones seemed to have snapped from the left of the skull
    - the hat itself has a few 'injuries', it has a hole just left of the totenkopf which goes all the way through the hard material underneath and emerges on the inside of the hat. It also has a full thickness hole at the top.
    - the sweatband feels to be leather, it is a blueish grey colour
    - the inside of the sweatband has cork behind it on the front section of the cap
    - the inside of the hat feels like silk, the sides are a dark blue and the section with the manufacturer's logo is dark grey or possibly once a shade of greyish blue
    - the maker appears to be a manufacturer called 'Das Zeichen fur Wertarbeit MWS (1877)'. I found one other reference to this maker at a post here: http://dev.wehrmacht-awards.com/foru...d.php?t=981320
    - apparently this cap was found in the Alsace region

From what I've read, the aluminium piping indicates that it is a General's hat, or that it belonged to someone on the personal staff of the RFSS. I don't know what the insignia are made of and why they are not silver, and I really would like to know more about this manufacturer. I've seen a couple of other General's caps online and most have beige silk lining with a brown sweatband on the inside, however this one has grey silk and a blue sweatband.