Has this visor been repaired?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Has this visor been repaired?

Hello folks. I bought this visor on the estand, and I'm trying to determine if my suspicions that the visor has been repaired are true or not. I'm pretty new to visors, and hope my inexperience is my problem. But, I'm pretty certain my fears of a visor repair are correct. I'd like to get opinions before contacting the seller.

Thanks everyone!

Here are some photos of the visor:

And here are photos of where I think this visor may have been repaired.

When looking it over, I noticed some stuff that looks like it might be glue, which also shows under blacklight. I'm not certain it's glue, and it's only in a few spots like this where there's a little on the visor and it's coming through the visor stitch holes:

This got me looking more closely. Under the sweatband, I discovered gray colored thread stitching here and there that doesn't look like original construction:

Here are some photos of the stitches where the visor joins the black velvet on the rim:

This looks like original factory stitching to me between the red lines:

Here are a couple of the gray thread showing through stitch holes, and even piercing the black velvet in places:

Lastly, here is where the gray thread has come through to the front of the visor where I see it go through the visor stitch holes, and made little knot shaped stitches here and there. I felt like this is going to be the most convincing evidence of a visor repair:

I'm in this visor for about $750, and suspect that even though these repairs were not disclosed in the sales thread, the seller probably wasn't even aware of these issues. If this is repaired, it appears to have been done well overall, but I know this will have a fairly significant affect on the value, and I'm not sure how to appraise things from here. Any thoughts or advice are much appreciated.

Thanks again.
    Attached Files