SS-Visor for review...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

SS-Visor for review...

I am not a expert about SS cap and I need your opinions is it real or a fake.
    For information the skull is ok but the eagle is a copy and the pipping is brown from the oxidation. You can see the mistake on the picture 4 (steel ring!)

comments and opinions welcomed, thanks in advance, wobe
    Attached Files

picture 3
    Attached Files

Comment

Attached Files

Comment

Attached Files

Comment

Hallo wobe

From the outside, I lay me some questions:

- Why the oxidation hit only the top piping? It seems rather an unsuccessful attempt to color it with a very attractive waffenfarbe.
          - Is this is a velvet band on a trooper's visor? From the photographs it is not clear at least to me.
          - The sweatshield seems made of plastic, or maybe I'm wrong?
          - The interior is anonymous and it seems never worn. So, as usual, any investigation on the manufacturer is impossible.

I hope to start a fruitful discussion with my own doubts.

Comment

Center-seam joinder of front panels seems to be off-center; that, & a plastic sweatshield are characteristics of "Alteste" reproductions.

A review & commentary by the "SS-Headgear Gurus" is definitely needed for this hat to fully explain its bad &/or good points.

Still, based upon my limited knowledge of W/SS headgear, I wouldn't buy this hat as an "original" without an ironclad return/ money-back guarantee!

Comment

I absolutely refuse to crane my neck any more to look at insignia ... is this another iPhone fail ?

Ian.

Comment

further pictures for review and the discusion.....
                (sorry for the neck)
                Attached Files

Comment

Attached Files

Comment

RZ stamp
                    Attached Files

Comment

Originally posted by Wobe View Post
                      further pictures for review and the discusion.....
                      (sorry for the neck)