EdelweissAntique

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

how much does mothing affect value/collectability?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

how much does mothing affect value/collectability?

First let me say that I have no experience with visors,and Im young and broke..But,I found an infantry officers visor locally for $200,but it has some moth damage. Still very intact,just has some holes pretty much all over. I know pictures are necessary,but I'm just wondering if its even worth stressing about since condition isn't great.Unfortunately I cannot get any pictures until this Friday. I'll post pics then,as I need to have it reviewed anyway for authenticity. My concern is that i will NEVER pay the asking price for a nice one,so does it make sense to spend any money on one that's not in great shape?

We all have to start somewhere, sounds like a good starter. Please post photos before you buy, there are wide opinions on what constitutes alot vs a little mothing. Sometimes its better to save a little more money and buy something with fewer issues. Luft, EM peaked caps are reasonable.

Comment

Yes, we need photos for better discussion and judgement.
      Personally, I don't mind few small moth holes, but that depends of the rarity, money one can invest etc. etc.

If I was young and broke, I'd just ron for an original, no matter if there are some moth holes (as long as consistency of the visor is not endangered by them).

Comment

Hi Gerhman,

Mothing, like any other condition gradient, is subjective. There are some people who abhor mothing of any kind, while others are okay with varying degrees of it.