Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Reichsbahn RED-TOP Visor!

Gents:

As you all know, I have a weakness for obscure civil visors (and thats an understatement!) The first hat book I ever got was "Les Coiffures Militaires du Troisieme Reich" back in 1981--this book came out before the Shutt book (and I wish I still had mine--it basically fell apart after about 10 years of over-use). Out of all the hats in that book, 2 stick out in my mind--the first being a WSS General's Visor, and the 2nd a Reichsbahn (RB) Supervisor's cap. The reason that this hat stuck out to me was the richness of the red wool top, and that it was also the only hat in the book to have a red-top--you almost needed sunglasses to look at the picture of it, it was so bright .

Well, after 26 years, I finally scored one--and it was more that worth the wait. So, let's go on another one of my tours.....
    NEC SOLI CEDIT

Front downward view (get those shades on!):
    Attached Files
    NEC SOLI CEDIT

Comment

Although Shutt's book describes them as having chinstraps, the ones I have seen do not (and mine never had any):
      Attached Files
      NEC SOLI CEDIT

Comment

The wool on this is described as red in the books, but it is actually more of an orange-red. The wool is a rich, pre-war doeskin--but that was the only "extra" on this cap:
        Attached Files
        NEC SOLI CEDIT

Comment

Eye-level frontal view. These hats were red in order to increase the visibility of the supervisor in those congested Third Reich Bahnhofs:
          Attached Files
          NEC SOLI CEDIT

Comment

We've all heard of "white-tops"--this is a bona-fide "red-top"--note the standard Reichsbahn blue-wool trim below the bottom row of piping:
            Attached Files
            NEC SOLI CEDIT

Comment