Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

AH Silverware set

I bought these many years ago.

This is the vet/collector that I bought it from. Rocky Blount.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8a8fqGpHgsk

Below is what I was told by someone on another forum.

Nice set of silver, while Gottlieb did make the blade the silver maker mark is for Wilkens & Sohn. The mark is a silver press. This is one of the nicer marker marks to see on AH silver as it is one of the few that have not been messed with. Even some reference books do not know this mark as they have it as unidentified.
    Though you might like to know

I have been working with silver for over twenty years now and consult for a few firms in militaria. I have been working with 6 of the remaining silver firms and Krupp on a book on WW1 and WW2 presented silver and hope to complete it mid next year.
    The AH you have is allot better than the silver with the national eagle on it anyway as this was for everyday use, allot of this was melted down after the war. There is allot of fake AH and others all over the place as well as LAH.

I tried to add to the post, but it keeps bring up an error. If anybody has any questions
    about the silver I would be happy to let them know by email if they need to contact me that the silver you have is 100% period by Wilkens & Sohn. The AH that Snyder has is the same as yours, while some of his items are questionable this style is correct. There are more people buying fake SS silver on the market right now and then trying to justify the
    marks, the problem their is that it makes other silver look bad. While the formal patterns of most TR silver has been copied, yours is one of the few that has not been done yet.
    I would also be willing if you would like to write a letter for you reguarding the silver for you if you want.