Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

LSSAH research - September 9, 1943 - Mantova, Northern italy

Dear friends,
    I’m working on a research and I need your help Please accept my apologies, I don’t write english very well! I’m studying what happened in the city where I live and I was born, Mantova (Mantua in both German and English), northern Italy, day September 9, 1943. As you know, when Italy surrendered to Allies, german forces took control of italian ground (“Achse operation”). In Mantova there were some fightings; I had access only to the few available italian sources and witnesses (a few old people still remember what happened!) but I know very little about the german side.
    Italian units were, mainly, 80th Infantry Regiment and 4th AA Artillery Regiment; I know that the german units involved in city combat were all part of the 1.SS Panzerdivision Leibstandarte “Adolf Hitler”. For sure they were at least the following:

SS-Panzer-Pionier-Bataillon 1
    SS-Panzer-Jäger-Abteilung 1

supported by SS-Kraftfahrstaffel (Waffen SS) Fronthilfe DRP, I suppose for transport purpose.

Not sure if there were more units of the Leibstandarte. If you have more info, it would be GREATLY appreciated!.
    These units were replaced a few days later by elements of Panzer-Grenadier-Regiment 26 (24.panzer-division), but I'm focusing only on September 9.

Italian witnesses and battle reports talk about german SS motorcycles, armored cars, infantry and tanks. I know about Italian Regio Esercito, but I know very little about SS organisation, so here are my questions!

1) Could you tell me about the “structure” of SS-Panzer-Pionier-Bataillon 1 and SS-Panzer-Jäger-Abteilung 1 in 1943? I mean, how many men they were, and what kind of tanks/vehicles they used? I need to understand the real situation, because, for example, about tanks, people talks they were Tiger but someone also talks they were not (Panzer IV? Large tanks with turret, anyway).