Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to collecting...

Hallo everybody,

I've been here some time ago but only recently did I find some time to try to find what I am looking for. I am a long time researcher of the career of Stubaf. Gustav Knittel and his unit, the SS-Pz.AA1 LAH but I am quite new to collecting photos. I know several veterans who gave me some pics and I have the photos from the usual books but I am not familiar with the other possibilities, especially for finding photos of his Kompanieführer (Bügelsack, Wägner, Wawrzinek, a.o.) as well as photos from training, on the march and at the front. Do you have any hints and tips as to how to find photos from this unit? Is the BA-MA Bilderarchiv in Koblenz an option and are there any collectors magazines in which I can place an add? Do you know any W-SS photocollectors who could be of help to me? In most cases I am just looking for reprints or even good scans, no originals.

Same goes for documents. I have quite a collection of BDC-files, NARA-files, BA-MA documents and written memories from veterans, but I hope somebody can point out the possibilities in other archives (I've been told that there could be interesting stuff in München and Prag) or perhaps in old Feldpost? Are there any W-SS Feldpost collectors outthere who can help me? Any help is very much appreciated.

Best regards and merry Christmas,

Timo

Nobody has any hints or tips???

Comment

You search from the AA Unit photos?
      Ask more for photos by the Bundesarchiv and when you not find infos search members from HIAG they could help you.

Comment

I have several photos from veterans and the HIAG nolonger excists. Is the Bundesarchiv in Koblenz worth a visit? I've been told that they are only allowed to make poor quality xerox copies for visitors (which cost to much money: firma Schelke )

But how to contact collectors who might have photos of AA LAH in their collection? Any collectors magazines in which I can place an add?