U-boat clasp - help please.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

U-boat clasp - help please.

Hello everyone, I'm something of a newbie on this forum although I have to admit I've spent many, many happy hours reading through the numerous and informative threads.
    I've recently retired (through ill-health unfortunately) so you can imagaine I've got some time on hands, so I've been sorting out my militaria collection.This mainly consists of UK & US insignia WWII to present particularly airborne related. I've been collecting this stuff for over 40 years since I inherited my late uncle's badges (RSM of 3 Para during WWII). As I'm sure you can appreciate along the way I've picked up all sorts of militaria items that's not really in my field, but I've been glad to give them a good home!

So, to get to the point, I've had these two U boat clasps in my collection for some time now having purchased them as part of a job lot. I'm hoping that one or two of the experts on here will take pity of me and could give them the once over as I really haven't a clue and I'd like to know whether to file them under 'original' or 'duff'!
    Many thanks in advance
    Michael

http://i1210.photobucket.com/albums/...4/DSCF3398.jpg

Hello Michael,

I am certainly not an expert but I can tell you that both your clasps are original.

The silver looking example is a hard to find first type made by Schwerin. Is it a silver one ? because they are a rare find in a first model and this one looks to be excellent condition. Very nice and worth good money even in a recession. ( of course it might be a mottled bronze one ?, still rarer than the second type )

The bronze one is a second type by Schwerin and is also in very nice condition. These always sell for a good "bob" or two these days.

You have a couple of good ones there. Hopefully we might get to see some more as you go through what sounds like an interesting accumulation of items from over the years,

Chris