Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

KM honor ring.

Hello to all,

I have recently started collecting and I am trying to specialize in uboat related stuff like medals, documents, etc. I already collected replicas for reenactment and by accident some original stuff appeared in my collection (I could get it for a nice bargain, so why not?). But recently, infected with the collecting-virus, I decided to go for the real thing and having an interest in german uboats, I decided to collect stuff in that area.

Now I already have a question about something in my collection that puzzles me for a while now.

I obtained this ring a while ago and tried searching more information about it. I bought it presuming it was a replica and only paid EUR 12,- for it. But after examining it closer I started to get some doubts. Inside there is also a marker which is very hard to read (looks like a B or an 8). Because I am no expert regarding honor rings I would like to hear your opinions please. Any info is welcome regarding this ring. Thank you in advance already.

Ring

Hello Fluffy,
    Welcome to the forum. To begin with the Kriegsmarine did not have an honor ring (the SS had them though), but they did have an honor dirk.

Your ring is very crude and almost looks like the HSF badge came from a stickpin and the ring band was added to it.

I personally do not like what I see.

Regards,
    Jody

Comment

Comment

It is a put together with a stick-pin. Totally unofficial of course and whether it was made during the war or last week is anyones guess.

I have seen the odd similar item from supposedly from ex-POWs (Kept in Canada). The story being they were not allowed to wear their badges but were allowed to wear personal jewelry. ??

I have seen plenty of Pics of POW camps and when they were in uniform they had their medals and rank insignia on.

Comment