Small Battle Badge

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Small Battle Badge

Here is a cloth item that I have little or no experience with. It is the Small battle badge of the Kreigsmarine. I would appreciate any coments pro or con as to the authenticity of this badge.
    Attached Files

REVERSE OF THE SMALL BATTLE BADGE

Reverse.
    Attached Files

Comment

Sawfish

No doubt it´s good quality, but it´s not the same style as those sold as originals in Germany (both Winkler and Weitze have one for sale).
      I have one that is original and it´s not like this one; thin cotton thread which makes the complete badge much thinner. Not so detailed.

Comment

Re: Sawfish

Originally posted by Ludwig
        No doubt it´s good quality, but it´s not the same style as those sold as originals in Germany (both Winkler and Weitze have one for sale).
        I have one that is original and it´s not like this one; thin cotton thread which makes the complete badge much thinner. Not so detailed.
        The lower grades of these badges were reported to have been produced and issued in great numbers from late November of 1944 to the end of the war. Therefore, it can be assumed that more than one firm produced these cloth badges and probably many different variations in material and construction was employed. I have seen many of the thin types, bullion variations, but never come across one like the one posted save one example Dr. Klietmann had in his reference files back in the 70's. I just can't get a definite answer as to the authenticity of the type I have. It might be a modern reproduction, but I will keep it as representative reference piece. I still hope that I can get additional opinions and I thank you for yours.

Comment

Note to self: Stump quotes Klietmann as reference (which is fine by me for some items).

Comment

KLIETMANN'S EXAMPLE