Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Youth Tunic Opinions Please

Gentlemen,

I've owned this youth tunic with a Volkstrumm armband for some time and really have any clue as to whether its real, worn by a HJ or youth, etc--any opinions would be most welcome .

Thanks!
    Attached Files
    "We all have it coming, Kid" ("Unforgiven")

another pic

Here's where a small sleeve shield of some kind was stitched and then removed...any clue?
    Attached Files

Comment

another

badge loops
      Attached Files

Comment

next

interior
        Attached Files

Comment

last pic of shoulder strap

shoulder strap
          Attached Files

Comment

HJ tunic

Hello Bill,
            I dont know what kind of shield might of been there as I'm no HJ expert but the tunic itself does look okay,the red twisted cord would be correct for a HJ war volunteer but I supect it and the armband have been added for the volkssturm look.Hard to say if it and the armband are okay from those pics,
            Cheers,Paul.

Comment

Thanks, Paul!

Thanks for the opinions. I'll try to take some pics of the armband and post them.

Anyone have any idea as the green (and tan?) sleeve shield that seems to have been removed from this tunic and any ideas as to the type of badge that may have been worn with the breast badge loops?

Comment

The combination of insignia is plausible. Whether the armband has been added can only be conjecture at this point unless you have provenance that came with the tunic. As the HJ were involved with many areas of war service, the loops could reflect a flak badge or possibly a wound badge. The placement of the removed patch on the lower sleeve is curious. It is located in a location usually reserved for a specialty rating. As I cannot think of any multicolor specialty ratings, my only thoughts is possibly a city or village crest and this individual was involved in being an assistant fireman or Luftschutz helper.
                Bob

Comment

Thanks, Bob!