Relic Helmet

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Relic Helmet

This arrived from a friend of mine this past Saturday. I've admired it for over a decade though I'm not a collector of relics. For a relic, it's in pretty good condition. It is not a dug, nor a grave item , but a battlefield find. Unusual, more later after other's comments.
    Attached Files
    Esse Quam Videri

Hey John--Nice Italian paratrooper helmet. As a relic helmet it does look nice.

I finally broke down and bought a post-war Italian paratrooper helmet. I have serious doubts about most of the WWII era helmets as they were so often re-isssued. Better to spend a $100 I figured and be happy with a post-war helmet that was close to the wartime version than to drop $3000 and have to worry about whether it is real!
    Attached Files

Comment

John,

I believe that is an Italian M42 paratrooper helmet. Did it come from a vet? I'm not an expert but I believe they still made this model post-war up until the 1970's I have one coming to me from Italy. The WW2 models are rarely offered for sale and they are expensive when they do show up. You can almost forget about finding an original liner for it unless the one you have still has the liner..it doesn't look like from the photo provided.. post war liners are still available if you decide you want to add one for display. Bill Petz

Comment

John,

I found a liner for your helmet shell on ebay if interested.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...EBWA%3AIT&rd=1
        This is the same person I bought my post-war helmet from. Bill Petz

Comment

Hi Peter and Bill,
          Thanks for the response. This is indeed an Italian para helmet and a WW II one. Since it is a relic, I think it should remain as it was found. The inside is actually quite rusty, and yes, the liner and straps are long gone. It is unusual and remarkable that the exterior paint survived so well.
          Regards,
          John
          Esse Quam Videri

Comment