Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Para gravity knives (take-down)

Hello, gentleman's.
    Recently I purchase two late (blued) gravity knives by SMF from a source in Germany.
    They are both looks quite old and genuine for me but they are different in some details (fonts of serials, WaA eagles). Don't looks like a fakes for me, but I'm not an expert.
    Can I please hear some opinions about those knives.

P.S. The one with the brighter fitting was rusted over blueing so it was cleaned a bit.

Thanks.

No problem for me about these two knives.

Congrats

Comment

Both knives are fine and authentic .

Comment

There are a few things I don't like:

a. Matching numbers - hardly ever happened. If the numbers also match under the blade release it would worry me.
        b. The number '3' in '403' is not the standard German font it is rounded (see picture below).
        c. The blades are SMF and look good to me, however the bolster and knife bodies are PW's. SMF blades were more abundent than PW's!

So my conjecture is that these knives have been made up of genuine parts, cleaned up, renumbered and sold as genuine. I would say they are worth approx £80 to me and £110 to someone who wanted one, to £220 someone who thought they were buying 100% original Type 2 knife in good condition!

Thanks Mike

Comment

Hello, and thank you all for your replys.
          Mike, the difference in font of #3 has also alerted me, by here is a simple question. Why the peron(s) who has a proper fonts (#238) use different one in second (#403) knife? And, yes all numbers are matched in all parts on both knives. I don't see any evidence what old numbers has been grind off. Anyway, the price on those today not that high, to made a high quality stuff with all that details, and even if someone have ability to made them on that level, why he just don't do them from a "text-book examples"???