Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Kommando Welter NJG11 Wehrpass

Hello,

Some time ago I received a group of documents that belonged to a member of Kommando Welter NJG11 that flew Me 262 jets at the end of the war.

I am not sure whether he was a pilot or a observer, however according to the Wehrpass he was awarded the Frontflugspange für Nachtjäger in Silber in March 1945. Therefore, I assume he did fly. So far nothing is known about this pilot and I would be glad if anybody could tell me more about him. I attach the most interesting pages from his Wehrpass.

He was also awarded the KvK II class without swords. I thought that only civil people got this award? But then again, I am not an expert regarding medals, awards, but more interested in the Me 262.

Also, I found the text "Einweisung auf Strahflugzeuge" (briefing in jet airplanes) also in two other Wehrpass I own. I am wondering if this means that he actually flew them or was only theoretically instructed how to fly them. I assume he actually flew jets.

Regards
    Roger
    Attached Files

Wehrpass 2

2nd photo
    Attached Files

Comment

3rd

3rd photo
      Attached Files

Comment

4th

4th photo
        Attached Files

Comment

Originally posted by Sturmvogel View Post
          Hello,

...edit...

He was also awarded the KvK II class without swords. ...edit...

Regards
          Roger
          Very nice wehrpass. It looks to me like KVK II m. (mit-with) Schwerten. He also seems to be fairly well decorated, so it is very conceivable he was a pilot. Too bad there's no stamp on the 2nd listing of awards (FFsp, EK1, etc.)

best
          Hank
          Unless it was nighttime, or the weather was bad, and you were running out of gas - then it was a sweaty nightmare, like a monkey f*ing a skunk.
          ~ Dan Hampton, Viper Pilot

Comment

Hi Roger,

Nice unit entries, but I have a feeling that your man wasn't an aircraft crewmember, but groundcrew.