Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

total newbie 2 dogtags - would appreciate a lesson

Hello

I am a long time belt buckle collector who bought a few pieces early on in my collecting that were not buckles but just caught my eye. These dog tags are some of those items. I know nothing about dog tags but I would like to know more about the anatomy and deciphering of them so any knowledge you would like to impart on me is greatly appreciated
    thank you
    Chad

pics of 2 dogtags
    Attached Files

Comment

Collecting Erkennungsmarke (EKM) aka dogtags/hundemarke is a lot of fun because there is a lot of variety, and you can research the history of the units on each tag. The first place to start is a good reference such as "Collecting WWII German Military Identification Discs" by M. Burroughs (Ulric of England 2005). The book has a lot of information on tags used by the Wehrmacht and Paramilitary organizations and breaks them down by service. There is also a section on POW tags. Most useful is the section on abbreviations encountered on discs which greatly assists in interpretation (though by no means exhaustive).

As for your tags, the one on top is from Bau (Construction) Kp (Company) 57. The 1/ is usually the company level unit, so this could be First Squad (Zug) in this case? The 474 is the roll number for the individual soldier who received the tag on assignment to the unit. Your tag is an earlier one for a soldier who was likely assigned to this unit on its initial formation. Later tags often have the "Ers." abbreviation for "Ersatz" (replacement) meaning that the soldiers first unit was a later replacement unit, like on the lower tag (First Squad (?) 110th Rifle (Schtz./Schutzen) Replacement Company). The "B" is the soldier's blood type. Not all tags, especially the earlier ones, had blood types on them. While I prefer the tags that identify the actual units rather than replacement companies, I have several of the latter as well.