Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Information on EK1 and 2 and spange

Hello,

I am a novice collector and you are my only reference.
    How to start collecting EK?
    I am really impress to see how good you are to recognise a genuine one or a fake one
    Is it preferable to collect the one with a maker number
    is it some maker that are more valuable to collect.
    is it preferable to collect a nicest one.
    It a new hobby for me and your advice are more than welcome
    Thank you every one for your help

Books

For EKI and EKI spanges buy "Iron Cross first class" by Maerz and Stimson. There is no good EKII book unless you read german. What to buy is really up to you as you know what you can afford. Any cross or spange marked L/14 or L/15 are hard to find or rare. There are other manufacturers that are highly collected (Juncker, Godet, and Deschler). Some people like mint and some like those that have been worn. But do your research first before you decide what area to concentrate on. My major collection is screw back EKI and spanges, and I have others (Schinkel, and Round 3). Good luck on what you decide. Jim

Comment

Originally posted by CMSgt View Post
      For EKI and EKI spanges buy "Iron Cross first class" by Maerz and Stimson. There is no good EKII book unless you read german. What to buy is really up to you as you know what you can afford. Any cross or spange marked L/14 or L/15 are hard to find or rare. There are other manufacturers that are highly collected (Juncker, Godet, and Deschler). Some people like mint and some like those that have been worn. But do your research first before you decide what area to concentrate on. My major collection is screw back EKI and spanges, and I have others (Schinkel, and Round 3). Good luck on what you decide. Jim
      Thank you very much I really appreciate you took time to answer me.
      With gentleman like you who help a novice the tradition will perpetuefrom generation to generation.