Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Are they all fake? A new KC owner and his worries

Hi All,
    I've been a member for while and not posted much so this is effectively my first post! I am a member of a FB group about medal collecting and pretty nasty discussion has broken about third reich awards and reference books. "There all fake", "99% fake," "not worth collecting" are points that have been raised. As well as some pretty un-gentlemanly discussion about Mr Maerz's books. Its been argued that "Certificates of Authenticity" are "worthless". This has got me a bit worked up!

What does everybody think about that? I am no expert but I purchased my lovely S&L Micro 800 with a cert of A (from Maerz) and am quite happy with it. Are these just the ramblings of those who have been stung with fakes? Hopefully you can see the images of my KC, Not in the best condition, not in the worst condition but its been worn from the looks of the ribbon.

I assume these people have been at the MAX shows since its beginning and been collecting since the 60-70s?

The cross looks fine to me but then again - no expert here.
    Just a few people with bias opinions. I'd stay away from groups like that when you have excellent sources and knowledge bases like these forums - what more could you ask for really?

Best,
    Callum
    Last edited by callum; 05-30-2015, 03:56 AM.

Comment

Mmmm