Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Iron Crosses

Hello,
    Ive been collecting for about 5 months now and want to start getting serious about collecting. I was wondering the different classes of iron crosses and about how much each one goes for.
    Thanks,
    Moos3

Hi Moos3 from nowhere, welcome to the forum.

Ok there are three major classes of the EK

EK 2nd Class, which hung from a ribbon and was worn on a medal bar, any wher from $80US to under $200 depending on condition and what all comes with it. I.E. package of Issue, documents

EK 1st Class which was pinned on the chest. prices there vary from probably just under $200 to 4-500 in mint shape and with issue case

Then you get into the Knights Cross also know as the Ritter Kreuz or RK, These come in a few different classes, just the plain RK, next you had iit with Oak leaves, then with Oaks and crossed swords, there were some issued in gold and with diamonds, forget them unless you are Idependently wealthy, and you can verify authenticity. Most RK's will run on average for $8000.00 and up. There was a set of just Oak leaves and Swords that was listed in the E-Stand here for 33,000.00 although they never sold to the best of my recolection.

There was also a Grand Cross but I dont know enough about it to tell you much except that they are about as rare as hens teeth. Hope this helps

Comment

Moos3,

Welcome to the most addictive hobby on the planet. First some advice. Become a member, read everything here, buy books, read more.

As for EKs, (Eiserne Kreuz), for 1939 you have 3 basic levels, and prices vary greatly by condition:

2nd Class (the one with the ribbon) goes for upwards of $100, with variants, like the round "3" going up to $300.

1st class may go up to, oh, $300 for a spectacular one without a case, and add another hundred for a case. Screwback and variants will inflate prices.

Knight's Cross goes for upwards of $10,000 based on condition and rarity.