Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

S&L Oakleaves

Hi,
    Ive posted a couple of pics for the more expert than me to check out.This is my latest aquisition.The frosting was acid etched and it has the die fault to the right of the middle leaf.What do you think?
    Cheers
    Attached Files

another
    Attached Files

Comment

Looks like it has been melted.

Comment

I'm not an expert on oaks in general, and know even less about S&L oaks...
        But these seem to lack the quality of a wartime-original.

Might be an S&L postwar-production at best.

Best regards,
        Ben

Comment

Hi,
          Ive got another set of S&L swords and oaks that are post war and pre 57.(The swords backs are detailed.)
          The frosting on these has been painted on and I doubt that acid etching was used post war.Just my opinion.
          Cheers

Comment

Franco, acid-etching is so extremely easy, why not on postwar pieces?

it's quicker, cheaper and more convincing hen to paint it.....

Best regards,
            Ben

Comment

Hi,
              It was the practice rather than the difficulty that I had in mind.Ive got half a dozen post war S&L oaks covering several decades and this is the only one with acid etching.Hence my conclusion.
              Cheers

Comment

Well, as I already said, I know very little about these.

But then again, the quality is not what I would expect on a wartime piece.

Best regards,
                Ben

Comment

Look's like a Souval post war production.

Regards

Daniel
                  Regards
                  Daniel

Search:
                  !!! all awards with [L/15] mark !!!
                  Otto Schickle
                  All early 57er pieces

Comment

Hi,
                    The problem with the Souval suggestion is that their pieces didnt have the die flaw.
                    It can only be found on war time S&L oaks.After the war it was repaired and traces of that repair can be seen on all subsequent oaks.