Award of RK - Source of RK's Presented?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Award of RK - Source of RK's Presented?

When a German soldier was physically presented with his award of the RK (which, as best I can tell, was typically done in the field - unless the soldier was at a hospital recovering from wounds), where was the actual RK medal w/ case sourced from? Were supplies of unissued RK's kept on hand "in the field" at some unit level, to be dispatched as needed for award ceremonies?

Same question for DK's and other more common awards - was a supply kept on hand at certain unit levels? Who within the unit would be responsible for this supply and were there any sort of regulations detailing how the unissued awards were to be stored, cared for, inventoried, etc.?

I guess your right, id imagine they would have certain levels of awards, about the RK im not so sure, but hey im no expert. I would think your right.

James M

Comment

If I remember correct, the RK had to be ordered form the PKZ, and then shipped to where ever it was needed.
      I think that also goes for the DK, but I am not sure.
      There were a supply of EK 1 and 2 at some level near or at the front.

/Flemming

Comment

Originally posted by Alan Smith View Post
        Were supplies of unissued RK's kept on hand "in the field" at some unit level, to be dispatched as needed for award ceremonies?
        Absolutely not! At least not till the very last days of the war. Every Knights Cross (and higher) was personally approved by Hitler and send out via courier from the PKZ. There were no storage at any other level than at the PKZ.
        I know that a lot of people dispute but that is mainly because they can't read (or don't want to read) the original paperwork. I do - if I may inject a little advertisement - show the proper paperwork and I do describe the process in my book in (boring) detail.