War Merit Cross 1st Class ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

War Merit Cross 1st Class ?

I have a chance to purchase this war merit cross 1st class from a vet I have already purchased a pistol (B-HP)from Him and want to be good to the gentleman. is $100 a fair price? to much? worth more? and more importantly is it a good one? thank you frank v.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by vitts; 03-22-2007, 09:57 AM.

It is mm 4 if you can not make it out

I was trying to concentrate on the MM and did not get a good shot of the hinge and catch but they are both in good shape
    Attached Files

Comment

I'm no expert on spotting fakes with these, but i can definitely say that $100 for a maker marked example is a good price, they generally go for about $40 - $60 more on the E-Stand for a decent example, can be even more for a minty one.
      Ant.

Comment

I'd have to agree with Ant. For $100 you're practically stealing it. If you want to be good to the gentleman, give him more.
        George

Comment

thank you for the comments. I try to treat the vets I meet with the utmost respect and give them the dignity they deserve. The best way to do that is giving them a fair price. When you think about it, and this has happened to me, they have friends that are vets and when you treat them fairly they do not mind giving your card to their friends.

That said what is a fair price ?

Here is a picture of him with the browning high power, holster, luft buckle and belt I got from him.
          Attached Files

Comment

A cased silver example goes for around $230.

Comment

Well, seeing him now with the pistol, I would definitely give him more! (For a guy like that, I'd give him at least $150. He looks like he deserves it.)
              George

Comment

Nice veteran, which he looks like, or not then $150 is tops. It's a bit tired looking zink cross from a common maker after all.

Frank

Comment