Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Pilot´s badge? - many questions

Dear fellow collectors,

Please excuse my questions regarding my pilot´s badge, I am not too experienced with those and this is still my first one. My questions are:

1) This was sold to me as a pilots badge quite some time ago. Strangely enough the wreath seems to be faded dark guilt which would make it a pilot/observer badge. But the back of the wreath is without finish unlike with all pilot/observer badges I have seen so far. Which one of the two is it?

2) The Assmann mark is above the left rivet, shouldn´t it be below that rivet?

3) The rivets seem odd but I think they were just flattened a bit by the owner because the eagle came loose. Chris Boonzaier wrote about this in the Fallschrimjäger-Forum, seems to be quite common with this maker.

4) There seems to be "leftovers" from a strange finish on the eagle. If you look closely you can see it on some feathers, eagle´s head, body and the swastika. This finish has a somewhat golden look to it. Highly unusual, no?

5) Good or bad?

Thank you in advance!

Cheers, Frank

[img]http://communities.msn.com/_Secure/0MwBkb*YQopUjwBPSozugbvhlMdEi9dDSCfmq6Q7pjAw9PO2lf ToeANWu0Ylqroy0ZGdFAIUtoqJr1UP38rMLIQ/P1080004.jpg[/img]
    [img]http://communities.msn.com/_Secure/0MwAAAPsQdJYjwBPSozugbglV!zZNm8rVzL4pA*trs4mvhEQBU Zf1hD0yQK8q9GLYzyXpEsimeOGsekWMZ9*WHA/P1080009.jpg[/img]
    Cheers, Frank

Frank

I have one the same and I'm confident this is an original piece ( by the way on mine the eagle appears to be aluminium, and I think your's is too)

[img]http://communities.msn.com/_Secure/0NAD**6kS!!AVTVirf6wmdiC8dvnMjOnRzjZaqo1!Cr3z8NEJJ rMAezG7dDDh6eIVk0uKmgsGTI8zdd*Xsevs8w/Ffa.jpg[/img]
    [img]http://communities.msn.com/_Secure/0NQAAAAsT7PTOZOtHa7lO7vDj9BtJi3t6CVEhSA5gEGzGk1xr* !dvWTeFoUBgzgo2oCB4RYJXokmg3PpGG!On0g/Ffab.jpg[/img]

In trying to answer your questions: