Variations in badges

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Variations in badges

Hello to all, I would like to add a few comments on badge variations. I work in the stamping business as a prodution manager and I'm familiar with many manufacturing processes. First of all the weight, the weight of pieces will very from run to run. If the specs call for material .090 +/-.010 thick the actuall thickness can run from .080 to .100. That is a %20 diference in weight while still being within print. Pieces that are made during the same run should weight the same. But a different run 3 weeks later could of used a different gauge of material, depending on what was left. The same thing is going to apply to hinges, catches and pins. What stays the same is the die characteristics, the actually image of the piece. Tools and Dies back then were hand made and every one was unique. They will start to show wear after use and they will be repaired from time to time. This will show changes. Tooling is also very expensive to produce. This is why alot of the new high grade fakes reuse the same tooling with different maker marks; FBL/FLL/unmarked close combat clasp, the Aurich/A.S. Panzer adges, L/21 screwback EKI and pin back versions of the same. The new repros are made with computer EDM machines. With a good eye it is easy to spot these because everything is too perfect, the lettering most especialy. There are a host of new Schwerin Badges out there that are just too perfect in their construction. Expect some variations in size and weight, it is the tooling that's hard to fake.

Hi,