Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Uniforms Worn While Deployed to Afghanistan

Fellow Collectors,

I met lifetime member WalterB over on the International Forum in a thread covering Afghanistan veteran bring-backs. He asked if I still had the helmet and uniforms worn while deployed. I replied in the affirmative and suggested starting a thread on the U.S. militaria forum.

In this thread I'll post photographs of the uniforms and equipment I wore while deployed to Afghanistan as a U.S. Army Major during the period November 2004 to April 2005. We were issued the desert camouflage uniform (DCU) and still wore our olive drab and or woodland pattern tactical gear ("TA-50" in Army parlance). As an individual replacement, I deployed from the CONUS Replacement Center (CRC) located in the Harmony Church section of Fort Benning, Georgia. An infantryman by trade, I was familiar with the greater Columbus area and was married on post back in 1990. At the CRC I issued with two duffle bags of additional gear and received more gear in country from the Army's Rapid Equipping Force (REF).