Chinese Helmet and Ammo Pouch in Korean War

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Chinese Helmet and Ammo Pouch in Korean War

I am not new to this forum. However, I am very new to this topic. I have always been interested in earlier Chinese militaria, especially those used during WWII and Korean War. However, as a Chinese living in Hong Kong, I always find it difficult to locate such items in China and Asia as a whole. One reason for that, I believe, is due to the fact that a lot of Chinese veterans "treasure" their uniforms, which they feel proud of, by wearing them after the war in their daily life. As a result, many militaria have been destroyed. I have recently been lucky to locate 2 Chinese Korean War Items: a Japanese helmet used by Chinese communist troops and an ammo pouch used by such troops during the war. Thanks Stewart Military Antiques. Enclosed are photos of the items. I will explain the characteristics of such items later if anyone is interested. In any event, I strongly believe that these 2 items were captured by US veterans as war booty during Korean War. That may be the reason why they had been in the US.

Nice items! There is also a M35 that has the PLA insignia stenciled on it.

For WWII items, they are out there but you would need to search for them. Most have been hidden away and forgotten due to the communist win. I wish I can go to China.. it would be nice to search for the stuff. There is not a lot for sale, I think because a lot of Chinese collectors do not want to sell their items... or maybe I never asked

Comment