Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Japanese naval flag

Hi guys,

This is my first time on the Japanese Militaria forum. I'm usually causing troule elsewhere on WAF. Anyway I'm going to be in need of some help.

I possibly have an opportunity to acquire a few Japanese items directly from a vet. The other items are an almost new condition Army pattern katana and an mint conditioned Arisaka rifle unfortunately with the mum ground. The condition of these items are immaculate. These items were picked up and shipped home by the vet in Japan proper in late 1945.

The flag first if we may.

The flag is a huge Japanese naval flag with the rising sun with the rays. This flag has no markings that I can find. It has a very stout cord( about finger to thumb thickness) for the lack of a better description that would be to tie the flag to a mast/pole. There are no gromets but the corners are re-enforced. the 'meatball' (hinamaru?) and the rays are sewn together as is some of the white to make up the large size. A very quality flag that is not printed.

The size is 12'6" (150") long by 7'9" (93") high and the red 'meatball' is 4' (48") in diameter.

The condition is excellent with no damage or staining.

What is an honest value for it? What would be a fair price to pay? I am looking to be fair with the vet.

Sorry but I don't have any pictures at the moment.

Thanks for your help.

Tony
    An opinion should be the result of thought, not a substitute for it.

"First ponder, then dare." von Moltke

Values and Price ranges