Is This String From A Helmet Net ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is This String From A Helmet Net ?

I picked up a USMC dog tag that had a odd string to wear his tags. After looking around I noticed the helmet nets the Japanese used and thought it might be the piece of a net, maybe the piece that tied the net to the helmet. The Marine was at Cape Gloucester and Peleliu. He spent a lot of time at Peleliu till he was sent home from the war. If I had a net in hand it would be great too compare so any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Attached Files

It looks like the one on my helmet net.

Comment

Originally posted by gunto View Post
      It looks like the one on my helmet net.
      Thanks I had a suspicion that it might be and I had looked at many of the helmets that were posted by other members and that led me to post so thanks again.

Comment

I'm not an expert on USMC items but is that a normal issue tag??

Comment

Originally posted by beretta1934 View Post
          I'm not an expert on USMC items but is that a normal issue tag??
          In the early part of the war the Marines and the Navy still did this style of etching. I have two PHM1/c tags and finally a USMC tag to add to my collection. I have also seen a few USMC tags in other collections made the same way.

Comment

Hmm, cool. Is the lettering actually raised above the surface (like the base material was etched down)? Or is the lettering indented like it was engraved or just the letters etched out?
            Really cool item and it would be interesting to research the individual soldiers history for a guy who joined pre-war.

Comment

Hmm, cool. Is the lettering actually raised above the surface (like the base material was etched down)? Or is the lettering indented like it was engraved or just the letters etched out?
              Really cool item and it would be interesting to research the individual soldiers history for a guy who joined pre-war.