Advice on collecting Japanese militaria

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice on collecting Japanese militaria

Hey guys, I am somewhat new to Japanese collecting and have started searching Ebay for medals and documents. That will be my main area of focus, and I am wondering if Japanese militaria is like German items, a minefield? Do people fake the medals and documents? Are there any sites, besides what is pinned here on WAF that teach the history and authenticity of these items? Thanks for any advice you can offer.

I personally don't think that Japanese militaria is at the level of German militaria in the way of fakes yet. It certainly seems to be going in that direction though. I believe that pretty much every part of Japanese militaria has been affected by fakes and fantasy pieces, to varying degrees of success. If the items haven't been outright manufactured as fakes, then they have been humped up somehow. The realm of Japanese rifles has been affected by this in particular. As to medals, I have heard that some stuff is coming out of Russia recently. When you talk about documents, are you collecting medal documents or documents in general? Japanese ID documents are my focus, and I haven't really seen much in the way of fakery there, although there have been a couple documents that I have questioned. I don't collect medal documents all that much, but I would think that while there might be some repro. issues, they are not on par with other aspects of collecting Japanese militaria.

Tom

Comment

There are three types of fakery regarding yosegaki flags, the so-called "prayer flags" with patriotic mottos and signatures of well-wishers.