Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Officer's Sword on EBAY!

Hello Eric and everybody on this forum.

Could you please tell me your opinions on this sword from the few pictures and horrible description. I maybe interested. Is this a good price for an officer's folded blade?

Cheers guys.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...e=STRK:MEWA:IT

It is kind of hard to tell from the pictures but it doesn't look like a bad sword, depending on the condition of the blade. Without knowing that much more about it the price probably isn't that bad for a WWII period made blade (least interesting and expensive). I'd ask him for a better picture of the blade, just make sure he didn't clean it with sandpaper. The one big positive in my opinion is the tassle, the prices on these alone are getting very high. The other interesting thing is the customs sticker, it would be interesting to see it and if it's dated.
    I'm far from an expert on swords but in my opinion it's not too bad right now.

the other eric

Comment

HI tom

Looks like a standard japanese shingunto officers with i think a factory made blade .i think £400 is its price i would rather see it for real than buy blind

dave

Comment

Tom,

First of all, welcome to the Japanese Militaria Forum.

Based on what I saw of the Army officer's shingunto, I would agree with what Eric (a.k.a. Blinky) and Dave have already mentioned.

You could ask the seller if the blade is sharp or dull next to the habaki which would be an indication if the blade was old or new. My guess is that the blade is dull which means that it is a new (i.e., wartime) blade.

Four hundred pounds doesn't sound too bad for the sword and tassel. (I couldn't tell what colors are on the tassel. It is more than likely brown and blue for company grade as opposed to brown and red for field grade or gold for general grade. Perhaps you could ask the seller for clarification on the tassel.) Also, the shipping tag sounds like a nice addition too.