NCO sword thoughts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

NCO sword thoughts

Came across this sword but wanted some more thoughts on it. I think it's all good but I am still new to japanese swords.
    Not sure what a fair value would be in this one? I have seen a lot of nco swords sell in the $400-700. Range.

Thanks
    Attached Files

More
    Attached Files

Comment

Attached Files

Comment

Attached Files

Comment

Attached Files

Comment

Last
            Attached Files

Comment

original.

Comment

It looks good to me, I like the cloth wrap on the scabbard.

Others (Stu especially) could give a better answer but I like it.

Rod

Comment

It match in number ,,thats great.
                  The cloth prevents the sword hanger rattleing against the scabbard. Nice feature.

Comment

Thanks guys.

I liked it. As well. I was not sure why the cloth was there.

Any idea of value? What would be a fair price in it? Thanks

Comment

Originally posted by tighe_n View Post
                      Thanks guys.

I think you were right when you said $400 to $700. The cloth wrap might add a bit of a premium if it's original (your guess is as good as any, looks ok to me). Mostly it's about what you will pay assuming it's not crazy money.

Rod

Comment

Originally posted by tighe_n View Post
                        Thanks guys.

Hi,

You are showing a nice authentic example of a Type 95 IJA NCO sword. It's not the earliest version but would still be considered of early manufacture in the overall time line.

It's an aluminum tsuka (handle), brass tsuba (hand guard) top latch version made but an as yet identity unconfirmed manufacturer for either of the Nagoya Arsenal or the Tokyo First Arsenal while they were still under Kokura administration.